Hubbard Squash – Good Winter Vegetables

Hubbard Squash – Good Winter Vegetables

I talked a few blogs ago about my food bucket list. I have been compiling my list for quite some time – some items are actually written down to remind me and then there are others that I continue to keep a mental note of. As I get older I definitely need to write more of these down so I remember! Pinterest is helping me remember these now.

I wanted to report that I accomplished another one of those recipes on my bucket list. The Hubbard Squash – it is that huge (big) blue thing that is a squash and a lot of times bigger than most pumpkins. I have seen many people at farmers markets walk right by them because they were intimidated and not sure at all what that blue thing was or the first thing about trying to cook it. You don’t often see these in the grocery stores because they take up so much room and again they don’t get used that much. They really are beautiful inside and out! I have seen quite a few used in outdoor displays during the autumn months. The nice thing is you can store these squash for a couple of months in your garage where it is nice and cold. I did stock up on a few squash this fall and have them stored now for winter use.

So where do you start with this giant of the squash world. Well, you don’t want to use a knife as you are likely to cut off your arm in the process! The easiest and recommended way to cut open a Hubbard Squash is to actually not cut it at all but to DROP it on a hard surface like your garage floor or driveway. I wish I had thought of this earlier (hindsight is always helpful!) but you could put a large sheet on the ground as you drop that bad boy.

The actual process of breaking open the squash to the time to cook it was probably 15 minutes so again, do not let this scare you off.

1- Drop the squash and break it open.
2- Pick up the pieces, scrape off the gravel (really it wasn’t that much) you could use a knife to scrape of the ends so you can really avoid any foreign objects.
3- Scrape out the seeds and guts.
4- Spray or oil your baking sheets or oven dish and you could add some olive oil to the surface of the squash so it doesn’t get dried out.
5- Cover with foil (or not) and bake at 350 degrees for 30 – 60 minutes depending on how large your squash is.
6- Scoop the cooked squash into a bowl with salt and pepper and a little butter. I didn’t even use sweetener of any kind and this was delicious!

Drop that bad boy!

Drop that bad boy!

Clean out the seeds.

Clean out the seeds.

photo (7)

The beautiful Hubbard Squash

The beautiful Hubbard Squash

Leave a Reply

